PSD Bank

PSD Bank

Awarding Agency: PSD Bank RheinNeckarSaar eG

Time Frame: 2012

Program: Office / Corporate

URBAN CONCEPT

The site for the new PSD Bank office building lies in the heart of the Saarbrücken city center, on Bahnhofstrasse at the corner of Sulzbachstrasse. Bahnhofstrasse was developed several decades ago as a pedestrian zone to unite the two major commercial centers of Saarbrücken. The northwest of the avenue connects to the Hauptbahnhof with the new "Europagalerie", a shopping mall, and a district of bank, insurance, and office buildings; the southeast to "St. Johanner Markt" with small shops, restaurants and the offices of public institutions.

Bahnhofstrasse is a classic German shopping street whose 1950s origins are apparent as most of the buildings on Bahnhofstrasse, with a few notable exceptions that date back to the 19th century, are postwar and do not reference vernacular architecture. Bahnhofstrasse has another unique feature: the ground levels of all the buildings are pushed back about 5 meters, forming covered colonnades on either side of the street. A distinct urban motif is created, defined by two distinct functional zones; on the ground level an entrance area with large glass display windows and the second zone on the 4th and 5th floors, where sales, administrative and storage space is located, having little relation to the exterior. The entire character is completed with advertising and other signage on the facades.

CONCEPT

The design and structure of the individual buildings on Bahnhofstrasse is very unique, in part due to the year of construction, degree of renovation or use. In addition, many building facades are subject to corporate identity standards of particular brands and/or companies, which do not take into account the building context, making a homogenous streetscape nearly impossible. Bahnhofstrasse appears chaotic, overloaded and random from these features, the eyes finding no quiet moment or distinct place to orient themselves.

This is exactly what the new PSD Bank building shoud become for the street an orientating fixed point. Given its privileged location on the corner of Sulzbachstrasse, the building is quite visible even from far away. It forms a capstone and an anchor for the row of buildings on Bahnhofstrasse. The building takes on the banding of the nearby buildings and disrupts the long side of Sulzbachstrasse. On the ground level, large clear glass windows offer an optimal contact to the streetscape and pull the interest into the interior of the bank building. The upper levels have a double shell glass facade: an interior insulating plane and an outer glass plane with large, scattered elements printed on the glass that give the building a monolithic and elegant presentation. Similar to the appearance of a crystal or a diamond, the building's transparency and status exudes stability and durability.

ENERGY CONCEPT

The transparent, thermal building shell allows for a flexible facade, that may be adjusted seasonally and reacts to daily environmental changes.

Provided by the outer, simply glazed weatherproof area of the facade is a combination of sun protection and daylight control system. Independently controlled solar radiation through deflection or reflection affords an optimal, glare free daylight utilization.

As a result of the smooth reinforced concrete ceilings on the interior, daylight penetrates deep into the building. To save electricity and reduce internal heat, artificial light controls adapt to daylight.

The thermal conditioning of the building shell takes place through the individual component activitation, the concrete ceilings are kept open at the bottom, serving both heat and cooling.

The city's heating network serves as the thermal heat producer for the building.

The building's ventilation system makes use of both excess waste heat from the building and heat produced on the facade in a system of heat recovery. In, through bypass switching and increased nocturnal air exchange, the storage capacity of the ceilings for cooling may be used.

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

PSD Bank

PSD Bank

Auslober: PSD Bank RheinNeckarSaar eG

Wettbewerbszeitraum: 2012

Typ: Büro-, Verwaltungsbauten

STÄDTEBAULICHES KONZEPT

Das Grundstück für das neue Geschäftsstellengebäude der PSD Bank liegt im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes im Herzen der Saarbrücker Innenstadt, in der Bahnhofstrasse an der Ecke zur Sulzbachstrasse. Die Bahnhofstrasse ist seit einigen Jahrzehnten als Fussgängerzone ausgebildet und verbindet die zwei wesentlichen kommerziellen Zentren Saarbrückens miteinander. Im Nordwesten das Gebiet um den Hauptbahnhof mit der neuen Europagalerie; Banken, Versicherungen und großen Geschäftshäusern, und im Südosten der „St. Johanner Markt“ mit überwiegend Einzelhandel, Gastronomie und öffentlichen Einrichtungen,

Die Bahnhofstrasse selbst ist die „klassische, deutsche Einkaufstrasse“ deren Ursprünge aus den 50iger Jahre noch gut erkennbar sind. Die meisten Gebäude in der Bahnhofstrasse sind bis auf wenige Ausnahmen, die noch aus dem 19. Jahrhundert stammen, in den Nachkriegsjahren entstanden und zeigen wenig Ortsbezug. Allerdings weist die Bahnhofstrasse eine gestalterische Besonderheit auf: das Erdgeschoss springt bei allen Gebäuden um ca.5 m zurück und bildet auf diese Weise eine durchgehende Kolonnadenreihe aus. Dadurch ergibt sich ein starkes städtebauliches Motiv, dessen Gesicht durch die zwei unterschiedlichen Funktionszonen definiert wird; im Erdgeschoss die Eingangszone mit großen verglasten Schaufensterflächen und der zweiten Zone in den oberen 4 bis 5 Geschossen mit Verkaufs-; Büro- und Lagerflächen, mit wenigen bzw verdeckten Öffnungen ohne Außenbezug. Ergänzt und gesteigert wird das Erscheinungsbild durch Werbetafeln, Werbeflächen und Leuchtreklamen.

KONZEPT

Die Gestaltung und Konstruktion der einzelnen Gebäude in der Bahnhofstrasse ist sehr unterschiedlich, meist bedingt durch Entstehungsjahr, Sanierungsgrad oder Nutzung. Zusätzlich sind viele Gebäudefassaden dem CI der Geschäftsketten unterworfen und nehmen keine Rücksicht auf ein homogenes Gesamtbild. Die Gestaltung der Bahnhofstrasse wirkt daher unruhig, überladen und beliebig. Das Auge findet keinen Moment der Ruhe, oder einen markanten Ort zur Orientierung.

Aber genau dies soll das neue Gebäude der PSD Bank sein, ein Ort der Orientierung, ein Fixpunkt. Durch die Ecklage an der Sulzbachstrasse wird das Gebäude schon von Weitem gut sichtbar, es stellt eine Art Schlussstein der Gebäudereihe da und wird zum Ankerpunkt in der Bahnhofstrasse. Das Gebäude nimmt die Zonierung der Fassaden der Nachbarbebauung auf und durchbricht sie an einer Stelle an der Längsseite zur Sulzbachstrasse. Im Erdgeschoss lassen große, klare Glasflächen einen optimalen Kontakt zum Strassenraum zu, und ziehen so Interesse auf die Innenräume des Bankgebäudes. Die oberen Geschosse erhalten eine zweischalige Glasfassade, mit einer inneren Isolierebene und einer äußeren Glasebene mit großen, ungerichteten gleichmässig bedruckten Glaselementen, die dem Gebäude einen monolithischen und eleganten Ausdruck geben. Ähnlich des Erscheinungsbilds eines Kristalls oder eines Diamanten strahlt das Gebäude sowohl Transparenz und Wertigkeit als auch Stabilität und Beständigkeit aus.

ENERGETISCHES KONZEPT

Die transparente, thermisch zonierte Gebäudehülle erlaubt die Ausbildung einer flexiblen Fassade, die angepasst auf die wechselnden Jahres- und tageszeitlichen Umwelteinwirkungen reagiert.

Im äußeren, einfach verglasten, witterungsgeschützten Bereich der Fassade sind kombinierte Sonnenschutz- und Tageslichtlenksysteme vorhanden, die durch Umlenkung bzw. Reflexion eine optimale, blendfreie Tageslichtausnutzung bei davon unabhängig regelbarer solarer Einstrahlung erlauben.

In Verbindung mit (glatt gespachtelten Stahlbeton-) Decken im Inneren wird das Tageslicht tief ins Gebäude getragen. Eine auf die Tageslichtlenkung abgestimmte Kunstlichtsteuerung spart Strom und senkt die inneren Wärmelasten ganzjährig.

Die Konditionierung der thermischen Gebäudehülle erfolgt durch Bauteilaktivierung, der nach unten offen gehaltenen Stahlbetondecken, die sowohl dem Heizen als auch dem Kühlen dienen.

Als Heizwärmeerzeuger dient das städtische Fernwärmenetz mit großem KWK-Anteil.

Die lokale Kälteerzeugung kann auf Grund der Bauteilaktivierung als Übergabesystem sehr energieeffizient erfolgen. Eine mögliche Direktkühlung über Erdsonden sollte geprüft werden.

Das Gebäude verfügt über eine Lüftungsanlage, die während der Heizperiode über Wärmerückgewinnung sowohl die Abwärme der Büronutzung verwertet als auch die äußere Fassadenzone zur Vorerwärmung nutzt. Im Sommer kann durch Bypass-Schaltung und erhöhten nächtlichen Luftwechsel der Anlage das Speichervermögen der offenen Decken zur nächtlichen Vorkühlung des Gebäudes genutzt werden.